Young Journalists Club | Latest news of Iran and world

News ID: 16475
Publish Date: 13:52 - 04 December 2017
TEHRAN, December 4 - Iran on Sunday hosted the second edition of Mustafa Prize ceremony at Vahdat Hall in the capital Tehran, granting its biennial $500,000 Mustafa Prize to two computer science experts, an Iranian and a Turkish-French national.

Iranian, Turkish-French scientists winners of 2nd edition of Mustafa Prize

TEHRAN, Young Journalists Club (YJC) - Iran’s Mohammad Amin Shokrollahi and the Turkish-French national, Sami Erol Gelenbe, were honored for their achievements in systems assessment in model-making and computer coding, according to the official website of the prize.

Along with medals and certificates, each winner gets $500,000.

Iran first handed out the prize in 2015 to a Taiwanese-Singaporean nanotechnology researcher Jackie Y.Ying and Jordanian-American chemistry professor Omar Yaghi.

The Mustafa Prize is awarded in the four categories of “Life Science and Medical Sciences,” “Nano Science and Nanotechnologies,” “The Information and Communication Science and Technologies,” and “Top Scientific Achievement in other fields.”

The Mustafa Prize seeks to encourage education and research and is set to play the pioneering role in developing regional relations between science and technology institutions working in the OIC member countries.

It was launched in 2013, with high-profile universities and academic centers of the OIC member states defining its policies.

Source: Tasnim

Your Comment
* Comment:
* captcha: