The Taliban seizes five other provinces in Afghanistan

Young journalists club

News ID: 52664
Asia » Asia
Publish Date: 11:15 - 13 August 2021
Friday, 13 August 2021 (YJC)_ Following the Taliban's advance, the group has claimed control of Herat, Badghis, Ghor, Helmand and Kandahar provinces.

The Taliban seizes five other provinces in AfghanistanFollowing the Taliban's advance, the group claimed to have captured the cities of Herat, Qala-e-Naw and Firuzkuh, Lashkar Gah and Kandahar.

Official Afghan government sources have not yet commented.

According to Afghan media reports, the Taliban are present in all parts of Herat city. The governor of Herat and Ismail Khan, the commander of the People's Basij forces, have retreated to the 207th Zafar Division. In the city of Herat, all audio and video media have ceased their activities.

However, Abdul Aziz Beg, chairman of the Badghis Provincial Council, told the daily Al-Inta'a newspaper that military and civilian officials in the province had retreated to the army headquarters. With the fall of Qala-e-Naw, all parts of Badghis were taken over by the Taliban.

In Ghor province, local reporters say the city of Firuzkuh has fallen to the Taliban without a fight. Military and civilian officials in the province have retreated to the army headquarters in the province.

The Taliban have also claimed control of Kandahar and Lashkar Gah, Afghanistan's largest cities. Official government sources in these provinces have not yet commented on the crash. These cities have been under heavy Taliban siege for some time.

Your Comment