Young Journalists Club | Latest news of Iran and world

News ID: 11853
Iran » Iran
Publish Date: 14:15 - 08 August 2017
TEHRAN, August 8, YJC - Iran’s President Hassan Rouhani presented the list of his proposed ministers to the parliament on Tuesday.

Rouhani submits cabinet to parliament for vote of confidenceTEHRAN, Young Journalists Club (YJC) - The list, which was presented to the legislature on Tuesday, includes the proposed picks to head 17 out of 18 ministries.

The nominee for the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology is yet to be presented to the Iranian parliament.

President Rouhani has changed eight of his ministers from the former cabinet.

Some of the ministers who have retained their portfolios in the list are Mohammad Javad Zarif as foreign minister, Bijan Namdar-Zangeneh as minister of petroleum, Mahmoud Alavi as intelligence minister, Hassan Ghazizadeh Hashemi as minister of health, and Abdul-Reza Rahmani Fazli as interior minister.

Some of the new picks include Brigadier General Amir Hatami to head the Defense Ministry and Seyyed Alireza Avaie to head the Ministry of Justice.

It was not clear when the nominee for the Ministry of Science would be named.

In May, Rouhani won re-election in a landslide after securing 57 percent of the votes.

On August 3, Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Khamenei formally endorsed Rouhani as president for the second term. Two days later, Rouhani took the oath of office at the parliament.

Since the swearing-in ceremony, he had two weeks’ time to present his cabinet to the legislative body for a vote of confidence.

The parliament will begin holding debates on the nominees next Tuesday, with the Iranian president being allowed to defend his cabinet picks.



Your Comment
* Comment:
* captcha: